The Next Big Thing blog hop

The Next Big Thing blog hop is a chance for authors around the world to tell you what they’re working on. The author answers ten questions about their next book, and tags the person who first tagged them, plus another author.

So I was lucky enough to get tagged by my awesome Breathess Reads sista, Fiona Paul! You can read her blog hop post here.

1. What is the title of your work in progress?

My work in progress has yet to be christened! At the moment, I’m just referring to it as Black City 3. Original, huh? My editor and I are throwing a few titles around at the moment, so hopefully we’ll have something to share with you soon!

2. Where did the idea come from for the book?

Well, it’s the last in the BLACK CITY trilogy, so it’s a continuation of Ash and Natalie’s story. I came up with the plot for book #3 very early on in the process – you have to, really, to ensure you foreshadow things in the first two books! Obviously, the story has evolved a bit since those first initial ideas, because of narrative decisions I took in BLACK CITY and PHOENIX, but the general plot is still the same. But there’s gonna be lots of twists and turns, action, a few deaths, and plenty of kissing!

3. What genre does your book fall under?

Young adult dystopian, with a paranormal twist!

4. Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

Well, he’s not technically an actor (unless you count the upcoming One Direction 3D movie, and I do!), but Zayn Malik from ID would make a brilliant Ash. Need I explain why? I mean, just…just look at him.

Zaynmalik

Aimee Teegarden from Friday Night Lights would make a superb Natalie, as she’s exactly how I picture Nat in my head, plus she’s quite scrappy. I think Henry Czerny from Revenge would make a brilliant Purian Rose, as he has the steely glare down to a T!

5. What is a one-sentence synopsis of the book?

I don’t want to give away any spoilers, so I have to keep it quite general:

“The thrilling finale to the BLACK CITY series, where one boy’s heart will determine the fate of a nation…”

6. Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

My book will be published through Putnam / Penguin.

7. How long did it take you to write the first draft of the manuscript

It took about four months to write the first draft. I know some authors can bash out a first draft in a few weeks, but I tend to revise as I go along, so three-to-five months is typical for me.

8. What other books would you compare this story to in your genre

It’s quite tricky to place, as the book is a mixture of dystopian and paranormal romance, so I’d say it’s similar in tone to DIVERGENT, but with Darklings and kissing!

9. Who or what inspired you to write this book?

In all honesty? My character, Ash, inspired me. Black City was always his story, and I’ve spent the past five years of my life trying to tell it for him. I hope I’ve done him justice.

10. What else about the book might pique the reader’s interest?

There’s hot boys! Action! Kissing! And more than a few twists!

Next on the hop is my League of Extraordinary Writers’s chumette, Bethany Hagen! Check out her post on the 27 March.

Comments

  1. The series Ready for Love sets out to weight loss clinics find
    romantic partners for three eligible bachelors. weight
    loss clinics sites and millions of people who’ve already seen it, or to stop the likes of Kim Kardashian and Tulisa Contostavlos. While Ray J maintains that he and Whitney were just” very good friends,” people you may not believe such a relationship totally private, enjoying clandestine meetings at secretive venues. When meeting with a date please make sure that you’ve
    thanked the person at the end.

  2. It’s the best time to make some plans for the future and it is time to be happy. I’ve read this post and if
    I could I want to suggest you some interesting things or suggestions.
    Maybe you could write next articles referring to this article.
    I wish to read more things about it!

  3. hi zayn malik i love you and hope i can meet you someday.

  4. Going to put this arlitce to good use now.

Trackbacks

  1. […] at me!  I was tagged in The Next Big Thing Blog Hop by Elizabeth Richards to answer a few questions about my debut novel coming in […]

Leave a comment