Things to do when you’re 30

Sorry about the slightly off-topic post today, but I thought ‘what the hell?’, this has been on my mind a lot over the past few weeks and I wanted to share. If you’ve been following my Tweets recently, you may be aware that I’m turning the big 3-0 tomorrow (EEEEPS! Only another 10 hours and 54 minutes to go…)

Usually this is the time when most women panic and refer to their crumpled ‘Things to do before you’re 30’ list and realise they’ve only ticked off a handful of things, and I was no exception to this. It was quite depressing actually. But then I thought rather than cry into a box of Krispy Kreme donuts as I lament all the things I’ve failed to achieve during my ‘yoof’, I’m taking a new, positive spin on turning 30!

So I’ve got a new game: Things To Do When You’re 30.

Here’s my list:

  1. Get an agent
  2. Get a significant three-book deal (well, I might as well think BIG right?)
  3. Write my next novel MOTHERLAND
  4. Get married
  5. Swim in the Pacific Ocean
  6. Make an effort to call my family members at least once a week and tell them I love them
  7. Exercise (*shudders*)
  8. Learn a new skill
  9. Do one thing every day that scares me
  10. Eat a foot-long hotdog

Here’s hoping next year I can report I’ve successfully achieved all these things! And if not, there’s always the donut option to fall back on…

How about you? What’s on your list?

Comments

  1. Happy Birthday Eve! Eek, I’m running out of time to complete my “things to do when I’m 30” list ‘cos I’m rapidly approaching 31! Where does the time go? But if you want someone to share the eating a foot-long hotdog with, I’m in ;0)

  2. Well I’m also nearly 31 and so far loving the 3rd decade! Having already had most of my first year I have already ticked ‘get married’ and ‘start studying animation’ off my ‘things to do’ list. But still have plenty left, like ‘Do “Gabe’s Fable”‘, ‘work in animation’ and ‘Get in to the lotus position’!

    So Ms Morris, put the box of donuts down and step away from your 20’s (they’re sooo overated) and celebrate becoming part of the elite group known simply as… the thirty-somethings!

Leave a Reply

