How to get published

Yay! My internets is back (must be that volcanic dust cloud messing up the Matrix).

Well, it’s been a busy week! My friend got married (still haven’t stopped crying, she looked like an angel!), I’ve been busily editing my book CRAVING, and yesterday I attended the London Book Fair 2010 masterclass on ‘How to Get Published’.

The audience was treated to some great advice from the likes of Carole Blake, agent and author of From Pitch to Publication (which I’ll be reading this week); Mark Booth, Publisher, Hodder and Stoughton; and author Lionel Shriver.

I was particularly happy to meet Meg Rosoff, author of ‘What I Was’, the book I was reading in NYC the day I got engaged (awwwww). Her latest book The Bride’s Fairwell is now available in shops, so go get it! (and thanks Meg for lovely horse drawing!)

She gave some fab advice to all authors, which was this:

Write a f*cking good book

It sounds so simple, and yet it’s the key to getting published. If you write a f*cking good book, then chances are it’ll get picked up.

The masterclass gave some other really informative and honest advice about how to get published, although not everyone in the audience was willing to hear it. One lady sitting next to me (writer of a book about the psychology of positive thinking) got in a mood with the panel for being too negative and stormed out in a tantrum.

I have to say, people like her to baffle me. If you want to get in to the industry, then listen to the experts. I do find it odd how some writers aren’t willing to listen to honest advice. Do they come to these events expecting to be given a golden key that opens up the door to the publishing world? Do they not grasp that publishing is a business, not an out-reach programme to support struggling artists?

The truth is the road to getting published is often long and hard. It takes sacrifice (we all know what it’s like trying to write a novel while working full time), it can be demoralising, it requires stamina, ambition and above all talent.

But by God, isn’t it all worth it?

Comments

  1. Christine says:

    Thank you for the Great advice! I hope I’m as successful as you.

    Thanks again,
    Christine

  2. Tracy Buchanan says:

    “Out-reach programme to support struggling artists”, ha ha! SO true!

    Was great fun, especially the literary lunch after! x

Leave a Reply

