The dawn of the digital age

The forthcoming launch of the iPad this Saturday (3 April) has got me thinking about e-book technology and what it means for writers and publishers.

One big thing that’s going to change is how people consume our books; as the technology becomes ever more popular, more people will be downloading books straight on to their iPads or Kindles, and fewer will buy print copies.

While I’m all in favour of new technologies (as a web editor, I need to be!), part of me still wonders if e-books are going to ruin the experience of buying books.

One of the things I love the most about buying a new book is admiring all the wonderful cover art – it’s part of the experience and something that connects me to the book (I can’t look at a red apple without thinking about Twilight. Oh Edward…*sigh*). Seeing other people on the Tube reading the same book as me makes me feel like I’m part of a secret club, and I’ve often been swayed to pick up a book simply because its cover appealed. So how’s the iPad going to change things?

The New York Times has written a very interesting article on this today, which I recommend you check out.

Read NYTimes article

In the meantime, here’s some of my favourite cover art from MG and YA books.

Leave a Reply

