Winner of the ‘Name That Owl’ contest

Thanks to everyone who entered my Name That Owl contest, which celebrated the release of  the BLACK CITY paperback! I had such a hoot reading all the owlmazing names (okay, okay, no more puns, I promise).

It was really hard to choose a name, as they were all so imaginative, but after much umming and ahhhing I finally picked one. So, the bit you’ve all been waiting for.

The winning name is….

nox

Congratulations to Jassie for suggesting the name! The prize pack will be on its way to you shortly.

Why I picked this name

Nox is the Latin translation for Nyx, the Greek goddess of the night. It’s also a spell in the Harry Potter books (it’s the counter charm to the Lumos spell. When cast, it extinguishes all the lights), and as everyone knows, I am OBSESSED with Harry Potter! So the name really appealed to me.

Honourable mentions

Archer, Archimedes, Albus Dumbledornithologist, Blanix, Buckfish, Butternut, Dr Whoooo, Fawkes, Hedgehog, Hero, Ludwig, Nash, Owl Love You Forever, Pimpernel, Plop, The Scarlett Feather.

Thanks to everyone who took part. I’ll be running another giveaway next month to celebrate the launch of PHOENIX, which is out on 4 June, so there will be more chances to win great prizes!

You can pre-order PHOENIX now at Amazon, B&N, and Indie Bound.

Comments

  1. Currently ‘owling’ :) That suits this day ;)
    Thank you, Liz for picking, Nox :D *cheers to HP fans*! Weee~!
    *attack hugs & calls more owls* :D
    X

  2. I really like the name!

  3. bahaha, I love Dr Whoooo, and I haven’t even watched the show! Nox is also a great name.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 304 other followers

